New Leaders at U.S. Census Bureau

Census Bureau

On September 5, 2019, the U.S. Census Bureau named new leaders and members to its National Advisory Committee on Racial, Ethnic and Other Populations (NAC).

Dr. Julie A. Dowling began serving as NAC’s chair on August 1, 2019, after five years as vice chair. She is an associate professor in the Department of Latina/Latino Studies at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

James Tucker took over as vice chair of the panel. An attorney with Armstrong Teasdale LLP in Las Vegas, he serves as pro bono voting rights counsel to the Native American Rights Fund (NARF). He’s also an adjunct professor at the William S. Boyd School of Law at the University of Nevada Las Vegas.

New NAC members are: Carla Kelly, Chiling Tong, Cherokee Bradley, Brad Cole, John Sandoval, Seth Sanders, Carol Hafford and Nicole Borromeo. They join NAC members: Gilberto Amaya, Charles Bruner, Inderdeep Chatrath, Jacob James Fitisemanu Jr., Morad Ghorban, Taeku Lee, Yolande Marlow, Meghan Maury, Stuart Michaels, Marc Morial, Thomas A. Saenz, Luc El-Art Severe and Lily Anne Yumi Welty Tamai.

Click here to read the full news release.